#044 Five-Stage-Tomb

Leave a comment

B4_#044 // The Tomb // Ema Hana Kacar

Graveyards make the dead seem selfish.

The Five-Stage-Tomb therefore doesn’t focus on remembering the dead, but aims to assist the people affectedmost in the event of death – the survivors.Each of the five sub-spaces envelop the survivor in an environment designed specifically for each of the five stages of grief.

Dug four meters into the ground, the mourner begins his journey by entering the Denial room, moving at their own pace through Anger, Bargaining and Depression rooms, before finally ascending up the staircase of Acceptance – giving ‘Go toward the light’ a whole new meaning.

Ema Hana Kacar is a Diploma Student at the Architectural Association

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s